My first impressions of the Onyx Boox Tab Ultra C

Expensive, imperfect, but maybe a good e-ink tablet for you...

Cato Minor
7 min readMay 29, 2023

It is different! I have gone through so many e-readers that I am almost ashamed: Kindle DX, reMarkable 1, Kobo Elipsa, Onyx Boox Note Plus, Onyx Boox Nova 2, Onyx Boox Max Lumi, to name but a few. So many! I miss some of them (reMarkable), I am glad I got rid of others (Kobo Elipsa).

Three of many e-readers that I own: Onyx Boox Nova 2, Kindle DX, Onyx Boox Max Lumi
I embrace all sizes of e-readers

And now I got my first color e-ink device. I looked at them for a long time (did you know that the oldest ones are from 2009?). But I always felt the technology wasn’t there. Now I finally gave in to the hype and ordered the brand new 10 inch Onyx Boox Tab Ultra C. What a name!

Image of the Onyx Boox Tab Ultra C with Keyboard cover.
Working on this article on train using Onyx Boox Tab Ultra C

And the results? TLDR: Its colors are bad, it’s a device with many compromises, expensive and even fragile (like other e-readers)... still, I think that for some people it can be worth considering. At this moment (!) I am happy with my purchase.

Now for the details. There is no way around it. The tablet’s main selling point is its colors (hence the "C" in its name), but those colors are bad. Like really bad. Imagine the bare minimum of colors and then lower your…

--

--