Onyx Boox Tab Ultra / Ultra C — Should You Buy the Keyboard Cover?

Cato Minor
4 min readJun 13, 2023

I have been using a Bluetooth keyboard with various Onyx Boox devices for a long time. I recently bought the Onyx Boox Tab Ultra C along with the Keyboard Case Cover. Which one is better and what are the things you should keep in mind?

Image of Onyx Boox Tab Ultra C with the Keyboard Cover
Enjoying a cup of coffee and Onyx Boox

For this review, I will be using my trusty personal Bluetooth keyboard for comparison: Microsoft Universal Foldable Keyboard . I really like it and it \has served me well for many years. As you can see, this cover is independent from the tablet/smartphone and requires you to have a stand.

Microsoft Universal Foldable Keyboard
My beloved and heavily used Microsoft Universal Foldable Keyboard

You can also opt for third-party universal Android tablet covers that include a Bluetooth keyboard. This is a bit of a middle ground that will not be discussed here because I don’t have it. Just by looking at them, however, be careful: Onyx Boox Tab Ultra has a camera that will need an appropriate cut-out in the back of the cover.

To make things easier, I decided to break down various aspects of both solutions into a list. If I forgot something, leave it in the comments.

Price

  • Onyx Boox Tab Ultra / Ultra C Keyboard Cover goes for ca 110 €. You can…

--

--